top of page

Adapted Books


Last week was Black Friday and Cyber Monday sales and everything in between and lets just say that I went a little crazy... :) Teachers Pay Teachers had amazing sales and I just HAD to take up the opportunity to purchase about 5 million things from my favorite stores.


The one thing that I found myself purchasing the most was adapted books. I don't have a lot of them, but the ones that I used my kids absolutely LOVED. They're interactive, fun, mysterious and rewarding. Oh and the therapists and teachers who make them are super creative and they always look amazing! I knew I had to stock up.


These are some of the books that I got last week. Click on the picture and it will take you to the link so you can grab these books too!


Adapted books can be used in so many different ways for numerous language and listening goals. Even if the book is "meant" for one thing, there is always a way to change it up to fit your child's need!


Under each book, you'll find how I like to use it to meet my kiddos goals.


Enjoy!

I love this one. On each page, it tells you what part of bear is cold, and then the child has to think about what clothing item would help him keep warm! You can follow the books prompts, or you can make up your own! "I am thinking of a clothing item that has long sleeves, and you can button it up". "I am thinking of a clothing item that helps to keep your hands warm, BUT they keep all of your fingers together".


You can also talk about what YOU have at home! What color is your jacket? Is it long or short? Do you have a hat? Is it soft? etc etc.


 




 

These two are great for older kids who are working on paying attention to details, inferencing, working on answer "what" questions, I could literally go on forever you could use these in so many different ways.


Again, helping to describe the item is a great way to help your child to the answer. I also like to have my kids have ME try to guess what they want. You don't even have to use the book after you've gone through it once. After you've previewed all the vocabulary that Paris with each item and how the book describes it, you guys can independent describe items and try to have each other guess what the other one is thinking of! This way, you are stepping it up a notch and taking away those visuals from in the book (the thought bubbles from the characters that have pictures that can help the child guess what they want)


I love this one and the one under. They are flap books! On each page, the child gets to lift a flap and see if the item that you are looking for is under the flap. When its not it gives them the opportunity to use their sentences! "I didn't find his nose. I found a scarf!" Then they get to move the correct picture into the book. They keep searching until the find the desired object! I love having them guess with each page, "Do you think you will find his nose? What do you think you will find next?" It's also great to work on find/found. Differentiating between preterite and past participle. This is always more difficult for he younger ones, but just simply modeling the correct language gives them that exposure, even if its not one of their goals!


 

Lastly there is this one. This is so much fun. I read this book auditory first so that my kiddos cant see the pictures and have to sole rely on what they hear (they are silly sentences of course!) I then have them tell me what they heard and then tell me what they think makes sense. Once they get it right, I have them search for the picture to check themselves! They then get to put the correct picture into the book; super rewarding! If they get stuck, I try to help them by describing the thing that they are looking for (still without visuals!) to lead them in the right direction.


 

How do you like to use adapted books?!

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page